are u happy?


Below are five statements that you may agree or disagree with. Using the 1 – 7 scale below, indicate your agreement with each item by placing the appropriate number on the line preceding that item. Please be open and honest in your responding.

  • 7 – Strongly agree
  • 6 – Agree
  • 5 – Slightly agree
  • 4 – Neither agree nor disagree
  • 3 – Slightly disagree
  • 2 – Disagree
  • 1 – Strongly disagree

____ In most ways my life is close to my ideal.

____ The conditions of my life are excellent.

____ I am satisfied with my life.

____ So far I have gotten the important things I want in life.

____ If I could live my life over, I would change almost nothing.

      • 31 – 35 Extremely satisfied
      • 26 – 30 Satisfied
      • 21 – 25 Slightly satisfied
      • 20        Neutral
      • 15 – 19 Slightly dissatisfied
      • 10 – 14 Dissatisfied
      •  5 –  9   Extremely dissatisfied

By Ed Diener, Robert A. Emmons, Randy J. Larsen and Sharon Griffin as noted in the 1985 article in the Journal of Personality Assessment.


Also use this:

FLOURISHING SCALE
.
• 7 – Strongly agree
• 6 – Agree
• 5 – Slightly agree
• 4 – Neither agree nor disagree
• 3 – Slightly disagree
• 2 – Disagree
• 1 – Strongly disagree
____ I lead a purposeful and meaningful life
____ My social relationships are supportive and rewarding
____ I am engaged and interested in my daily activities
____ I actively contribute to the happiness and well-being of others
____ I am competent and capable in the activities that are important to me
____ I am a good person and live a good life
____ I am optimistic about my future
____ People respect me

Scoring:
Add the responses, varying from 1 to 7, for all eight items. The possible range of scores is from 8 (lowest possible) to 56 (highest PWB possible). A high score represents a person with many psychological resources and strengths


Today we think of happiness as a right and a skill that can be developed. This has been liberating, in some respects, because it asks us to strive to improve our lots in life, individually and collectively. But there have been downsides as well. It seems that when we want to be happy all of the time, we can forget that the pursuit of happiness can entail struggle, sacrifice, even pain.

1 Comment

Filed under Cuba, EDUCATION, ENGLISH, España, HUMAN HEALTH, México, NADA, Podemos, PSICOLOGÍA, Silvio Rodríguez Domínguez, Silvio Rodriguez, USA, Venezuela

One response to “are u happy?

Leave a Reply

