they are children, that’s why Obama has decided to give to one of them (little cuba) some presents for Christmas… and they are that happy.


But… It’s not the gift. It’s the weapon!. The neighbour who says, “look what I have!” The child who says, “I have a New Friend!, he is big!, even more than China, the country!. You do not!”. The child who puts six hair bands in her hair and says, ‘Look! I won six! And you?’ The sister who crows againt her sister: ‘six pens for me and only four for you!’

In this world where possessions are scarce and money barely covers food. Possessions matter. It’s not important what it is, nor how it was given, nor if they’ve had other things at other times. It’s about jealousy, wielding small things to feel powerful over others.
Vladimir Putin also knows that.

some social psychology so far. They say they are “brothers”, and here is some people in Cuba, according to https://clippedwingsflying.wordpress.com/2014/08/25/a-gift-given-is-a-weapon-in-hand/

…See below how all start in the social psychology, then you will understand, how they are at all levels in society on a daily basis (I know that, I lived 33 years in cuba 1974—2007, and I continue seeing them; If you know any, listen carefuly, everything is about Possessions and sometimes family):

A friend and I go swimming with our kids. She doesn’t have a costume so she borrows the one I used when I was pregnant, which no longer fits me. On return I tell her she can keep it. It doesn’t fit me anymore, I have no use for it.

I am strolling the street with my eldest daughter and one of her friends when a man approaches selling DVDs. They are 50p each for 56 episodes. I buy one DVD for my daughter and one for her friend. The days here are hot, it’s good to have something to do indoors.

We go to a kids party Gabi wins six hair bands in a game, Laura and Lila win one hair band and a ball game.

One night before we leave for Havana I give our colouring pens and a roll of paper to three siblings to share between them. I give one the paper and hastily dole out the pens for the two sisters to carry back to their house.

Small things. Of the moment things. Inconsequential things.

Laura comes home crying one day. Her abuela tells her it’s just a DVD, stop crying.

Lila and Laura return from a party crying. Gabi won six hair bands, she has a head full of hair bands and they only won one.

My suegra (mother in law) mutters I didn’t bring her any clothes but a neighbour is walking around in a new top I gave her.

I walk home to find two siblings crying as one only got paper, the other fewer pens than her sister.

It’s not the gift. It’s the weapon. The neighbour who says, ‘look what I have!’ The child who says, ‘ I have a DVD. You do not’. The child who puts six hair bands in her hair and says, ‘Look! I won six! And you?’ The sister who crows, ‘six pens for me and only four for you!’

In this world where possessions are scarce and money barely covers food. Possessions matter. It’s not important what it is, nor how it was given, nor if they’ve had other things at other times. It’s about jealousy, wielding small things to feel powerful over others.

2 Comments

Filed under Cuba, ENGLISH, PSICOLOGÍA

2 responses to “they are children, that’s why Obama has decided to give to one of them (little cuba) some presents for Christmas… and they are that happy.

  1. Excellent article on human psychology.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks. mostly thanks to A gift given is a weapon in hand | clippedwingsflying
    https://clippedwingsflying.wordpress.com/2014/08/25/a-gift-given-is-a-weapon-in-hand/ WHO UNFORTUNTELYN HAS BEEN 3 months without posting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

